Which witch is which. . .

I went to an RCGI planning meeting last night.  Again– –great.  An interesting thing to me is that with these women there is no “getting to know you” weirdness.  Obviously we aren’t BFFs and our life experiences are different, but there is a kinship there already.  I am already beginning to feel that I fit in.  I wonder how I can translate that to the DoC?

We met at a member’s house.  When I walked in I almost laughed out loud because her house looked so similar to mine.  It was covered in Goddess images and statues of Mary.  The planning was uneventful.  I listened more than I spoke.  Evidently they, as an entire group, have decided on an order of ritual.  Then a smaller group plans each individual ritual.  Whatever that smaller group decides to fit into that framework is ok.  They were very clear on what could and could not be done during each stage of the moon.  I wasn’t clear where they got that information.  We decided on a “separating wheat from the chaff” theme.  I am bringing the items for the altar and calling the Goddess Inanna.

After the planning session I asked the ladies a few questions.  I am finally clear on the difference between the WTI and the Hallows gathering.

The WTI are individual groups that meet all across the country.  They are sort of classes that that eventually lead to ordination in the RCGI (a legally recognized church) but of course they are also a social outlet.

The Hallows gathering is a once a year gathering of the entire church at the site of the “mother church” in Wisconsin.  Any woman who has completed the WTI classes is officially ordained either at this gathering or the gathering in the spring.  Once you are ordained, you have all the rights and responsibilities of legal clergy.

One lady said she in the process of becoming ordained; that she feels called to be a leader in this organization.  The other lady said she is doing WTI primarily for the learning and social aspects and will probably never take the final steps in order to become ordained.  Both paths are ok.

I don’t have the money or the time to do WTI right now.  But I feel it calling my name.  I really do feel that I was meant to be a part of this group.  I am more and more interested in seeing where this process will lead.

Then I asked about Wiccan groups in our big city.  I thought one lady was very active in the Wiccan scene.  In actuality, she just does a Wiccan group at the Women’s prison (I wonder why not a RCGI group?) and is occasionally involved in a Wiccan/Pagan group that meets at another UU church.  I am very curious about Wicca and I am still not crystal clear on the differences between RCGI and groups that are exclusively Wiccan.  She invited me to her other Wiccan/Pagan group.  I may go but it is not exclusively Wiccan either just a mix of whatever anyone feels called to do.

There is a pagan pride day coming up with booths and information.  I am very excited to go and see what is available.  Right now I do not feel that Wicca or Spiritualism is the right path for me but I am very curious about them and want to learn more about them even just for curiosity’s sake.

~ by guideguardanddirectus on February 5, 2013.

Leave a comment